Hot Cocoa Cookies

IMG_0408

Hi there!

There comes a time in life when you need a cookie. And you need that cookie NOW. When cookie cravings occur (I am no stranger to this medical phenomenon), then there is no better way to satisfy them than with this quick and easy recipe!

The greatest part about this recipe is that I can absolutely guarantee that you have the majority of ingredients already sitting in your pantry. This is both a blessing and a curse, because it makes baking these cookies an incredibly tempting possibility whenever you feel the need for a late night snack! (My roommates can attest to the fact that, often, my best baking occurs at weird hours of the night.) The sprinkles are technically optional, but I seriously question anyone who chooses to leave these out.

I would love to take credit for the name of these cookies, but, really, all credit must go to my roommate (and frequent taste-tester) Haley. “OH MY GOODNESS, LIV!” I heard from the kitchen last week. “THESE MAY BE YOUR BEST YET. THEY TASTE LIKE HOT COCOA!” (This exchange is in all caps because it occurred while she was standing in our kitchen and I was watching Netflix in bed, naturally.) It is true, you will definitely be reminded of hot cocoa as you bite into these rich and gooey cookies! All of the warmth and chocolatey goodness can be found in just one bite.

Baking these are so simple that even a kindergartener and preschooler could do it! How do I know this? Last week, I recruited the two little boys I nanny to help in whipping up a batch. After an incredibly entertaining trip to Target for supplies, we were able to enjoy these in less than a half hour! The boys loved helping to mix up the dough, roll the dough into balls, and then coat said balls in rainbow sprinkles. The pride on their faces when I pulled the finished product out of the oven was priceless!

IMG_0411

I would like to note that this recipe was taken from Sally’s Baking Addiction. I cannot recommend her blog enough! Her recipes are delicious, and we both have a mutual love of sprinkles. Sally, if you ever read this, thank you for inspiring me with your warmth, yummy food, and beautiful pictures!

Hot Cocoa Cookies

1 box Pillsbury Devil’s Food Cake Mix (you could use others, but this is the best)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil

SPRINKLES (obviously) (to be used to cover cookies)

Before doing anything else, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. This step is crucial if you want to eat your cookies ASAP.

Mix all ingredients (with the exception of the sprinkles) together in a large bowl. I’ve found that using a fork (sounds weird, but it’s effective) or spatula work best for combining everything. It doesn’t matter the order in which you add ingredients, in fact, it’s easiest to add everything first and then mix. It will take some time to get everything combined – so don’t worry if things are mixing as expected.

Pour sprinkles into a small bowl. Create tablespoon sized balls (I usually just use a tablespoon to scoop) from the dough, and then roll balls in sprinkles. Place balls on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake for ten minutes. Cookies may appear slightly underbaked. Trust me, this is what you want.

Allow cookies to cool. Or don’t. Then, enjoy!

IMG_0410

If you try this recipe, I would love to hear how it went! Please comment. In the future, I will post several variations on these cookies that are equally delicious and simple. Stay tuned!

xx

5 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa Cookies

Leave a Reply

