Harold’s Famous Lemon Cookies

IMG_0423

Hello there!

First of all, I want to thank everyone for all of the kind words about sprinkledwithliv! I am so lucky to be surround by such positive and wonderful people. I OWE EACH OF YOU A COOKIE. Speaking of cookies, I have yummiest recipe for you today! These lemon cookies are just the right amount of citrus and sweet, with even a little crunch. “WHAT?!” your brain just said. That’s right, they have a little crunch in them. To me, texture is just as important as taste in a cookie. This one knocks it out of the ballpark in both categories.

Before I talk any more about how wonderful these are, or how simple they are to to make, or how you will want to eat the whole batch immediately after removing them from the oven, I’m going to first give you a little history on this recipe. My Grandma Ginny is THE QUEEN of finding cool and fabulous new recipes. Not only is she an amazing cook, but she is adventurous and always trying new things in the kitchen! She was the one to find this recipe and make it for my family. Of course, we were hooked immediately, and my mom got the recipe from her. We then made them for my Grandpa Harold and Grandma Renee. Saying that my grandpa loved them would be an understatement.

Grandpa was a big man, with a big heart, and a big laugh. He excelled at creating unique concoctions with even more unique ingredients. I am not joking when I say that one time I was forced to “enjoy” a blueberry jello dish that also contained pecans and coconut. I CANNOT MAKE THIS UP. He naturally asked for the lemon cookie recipe from my mom. Here is where things get interesting. Apparently my grandpa started taking these cookies to places like his church where he sang in the choir, and also the oncology unit where he was being treated for colon cancer. Around Fort Dodge (including in his church cookbook), these yummy lemon cookies are known as “Harold’s Famous Lemon Cookies” (much to my Grandma Ginny’s dismay), so that is what I will call them now. We love you and miss you lots, grandpa!

IMG_0424

These really are the perfect summer cookie! The lemon flavor is refreshing without being overpowering, and, as mentioned previously, the crunch is quite surprising! Curious about the crunch? It comes from Rice Krispies! Are you mindblown? Just wait until you taste them! If you are in need of a treat to take to the lake or other holiday festivities this weekend, these would be a crowd pleaser for sure! Trust me, this is a recipe you will come back to again and again.

Harold’s Famous Lemon Cookies

1 box of lemon cake mix (I used Pillsbury)

1 cup Rice Krispies (the cereal)

1/2 cup melted butter 

1 large egg

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Do this before you do ANYTHING ELSE. (I stress this because there is nothing worse than having cookies completely ready to go and realizing you didn’t preheat the oven.)

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. I usually dump everything in, and then combine. The batter will be thick and sticky.

Once dough is completely mixed, create tablespoon sized balls, and then place on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. While baking the first batch, attempt to stop your roommates from consuming the remaining dough. Once done baking, allow cookies to sit for several minutes, then move to wire racks to cool.

Now, it’s time for the fun part: GLAZE.

LEMON GLAZE

1 cup powdered sugar

4 teaspoons lemon juice

Whisk together the powdered sugar and lemon juice in a small bowl. You may choose to add more or less of the ingredients depending on desired consistency. Drizzle over cookies. (As you can tell, I got a little carried away with glaze on the photographed batch.) Enjoy!

IMG_0429

As usual, if you make these, I would love to hear what you think! Please feel free to share this post on Facebook! Or Twitter. Or Instagram. Or your preferred social media of choice. Once again, thank you all for the love as I start this fun new endeavor!

xx

2 thoughts on “Harold’s Famous Lemon Cookies

  1. Emily Wright says:

    I’m making these in the near future! Would you suggest using fresh lemons or could I use bottled? Also, what do you think about adding fresh lemon zest to the mix?

    Like

    • oliviajohnson1uiowa says:

      Emily! I use bottled lemon juice, though I’m sure fresh would taste just as great (if not better)! I think that the zest would be delicious. My only concern would be that it would be too much texture with the rice krispies. You will have to let me know how they turn out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

