Baby Zucchini Pizzas

IMG_0436

YOU GUYS. So, originally I was planning on posting this recipe tomorrow. However, I JUST COULD NOT WAIT. I know this definitely doesn’t fit the baking blog mold, but I can assure you it it is worth it. I actually just consumed about one hundred of these for dinner approximately fifteen minutes ago (as I type).

Do you ever just have a morning where you wake up with an intense craving for pizza? That was me this morning. BUT, based off of my eating this past weekend, I figured that was probably unnecessary. Anyone else have a similar weekend? I had no idea it was possible to consume so many Twizzlers. I also thought that a patriotic donut was necessary. And many Bomb Pops. And an ice cream cone. And a hot dog. And a weird amount of BBQ. And some homemade cookies. And boneless wings. And waffle fries. And mall Chinese food (sorry, Nate). And many scotcharoos once I returned to Iowa City (Lora Holton, you are a goddess). Are you starting to see a trend here?

These lovely little baby pizzas (redundant, I realize) are so simple and delicious. I can guarantee they will satisfy your pizza needs! This is coming from a woman with a long and serious relationship with pizza rolls, so this really means they are GOOD. You will love that this recipe requires few ingredients and comes together super quickly! About the zucchini, DO NOT BE FRIGHTENED. I am the first to admit that I am not a big zucchini fan. To me, a zucchini is a cucumber imposter. However, once you saute it, and then cover in mozzarella and pepperoni, it’s delicious! I pinky promise.

IMG_0434

Baby Zucchini Pizzas (inspired by Damn Delicious)

1 package of pepperoni (regular or turkey)

1 package mozzarella cheese 

Pizza seasoning (optional) (can be found with spices)

2 medium sized zucchini

Pizza sauce (I used Prego Pizza Sauce)

Cut the zucchini into thin slices. Season the slices with salt and pepper. Drizzle olive oil into a large frying pan. Heat the oil. Once heated, place slices into the pan. After a few minutes, flip slices over. Once thoroughly cooked, remove from heat. Gently blot oil from cooked zucchini slices with a paper towel.

Grease a baking sheet. Place cooked zucchini slices on the baking sheet. Cover each slice with pizza sauce and mozzarella. Top with pepperoni (I quartered the pepperoni, so that that they weren’t quite so big). Next, I highly recommend you add additional cheese. (I mean, why not?). Finally, sprinkle pizza seasoning (or a seasoning of choice) on top.

Broil on low for 3-5 minutes, until the cheese is nice and melty. Eat IMMEDIATELY. Seriously, you won’t want to wait.

IMG_0432

These would be really fun and easy for appetizers, or for a finger food meal! Who doesn’t love finger food?! Also, if there is anything that could convince a picky child to eat zucchini, it would be these cute little morsels. You could also top these with your favorite pizza toppings. There is no need to stick with just pepperoni. Get creative!

Have you tried any sprinkledwithliv recipes yet? I would love to hear how they went! Email me, or leave a comment. I hope everyone has a smooth transition back to the real world this week – if only every weekend was a three day weekend.

xx

IMG_0430

Leave a Reply

