Birthday Cake Snack Mix

IMG_0446Hello friends!

I LOVE BIRTHDAYS. To me, birthdays are the absolute best. I love celebrating my own birthday, the birthdays of those I love, the birthdays of those I hate, the birthdays of best friends, and the birthdays of absolute strangers. I really do not discriminate when it comes to birthdays. I would also like to note that I am a huge fan of the birthday of Jesus (cookies and Christmas songs) and also the birthday of America (fireworks and hot dogs). I like the idea of a whole day celebrating just one person for nothing more than the fact they were born (over which they had no control). I think this is awesome.

A huge reason why I love birthdays could be that (whether they admit it or not) my parents also adore birthdays. Growing up, I felt as though my birthday was actually a national holiday due to the importance my parents placed on it. I would wake up in the morning to streamers, balloons, and the traditional “happy birthday banner” adorning my room and our living room. The whole day would be filled with my favorite foods, people telling funny stories about me, eating off of a special plate (this is a real thing), and having every relative I know call to SING THE HAPPY BIRTHDAY SONG TO ME. Is this a thing in other families? Having your grandparents sing to you over the phone? I’m not sure, but I love it.

This sense of birthday love, along with fate, is what led me to discover BIRTHDAY CAKE TEDDY GRAHAMS. Quickly, run to your nearest HyVee and buy about 50 boxes, you will have no regrets. “I must do something yummy with these,” I thought to myself. This was how this delicious “snack mix” was born.

IMG_0445

Birthday Cake Snack Mix

1 box of Birthday Cake Teddy Grahams (other kinds would also work)

2 cups of white chocolate chips (I used one 12 oz package)

SPRINKLES

First, prepare your “work station”. Lay out one large piece of parchment paper. In a bowl, pour the sprinkles you wish to use for the snack mix! Pour out Teddy Grahams, so that you don’t have to reach back into the package each time.

In a microwave safe bowl, melt 1 cup of white chocolate chips for one minute. Stir. If necessary, continue heating in 15 second intervals until the chips are completely melted. Stir well between each interval.

Next, dunk Teddy Graham halfway into melted chocolate chips. Cover in rainbow sprinkles. Set on parchment paper to dry. Repeat until all of white chocolate has been used.

Melt the second cup of white chocolate chips and repeat dunking and sprinkling until Teddy Grahams or white chocolate is gone.

IMG_0440

How cute would these be wrapped up for a party favor or thank you gift? Everyone loves tiny adorable things, and these are no exception. This weekend I am caddying (LOL) for my boyfriend in the Waterloo Open, and I plan on packing a huge baggie of these to munch on when I need a little snack. You’re welcome, Nate. Best caddie ever despite lack of golf knowledge and a “quiet voice” to be used on the course? I think yes.

xx

2 thoughts on “Birthday Cake Snack Mix

  1. Megan Becker says:

    OLIVIA I love this!! I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while now.. You just might be my inspiration to finally go for it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

