Birthday Cake Blondies

IMG_0495

Hello friends!

One thing that I have struggled with my entire life is change. I absolutely HATE change. I hate transitions. I hate uncertainty. I hate feeling a lack of control. Obviously, college has been a real treat for me in that department. Though I have grown an incredible amount since my freshman year (my poor roommate Kaitie can attest to the fact that I was a crying machine – bless her heart), I still have moments where the future and all of the possibilities that lie ahead terrify me. In these times, I bake. For me, baking (as well as eating, let’s be honest) is incredibly therapeutic. I think that many of you can relate with me on this one.

Today, I’m sharing with you one of my all-time favorite things I’ve baked, Birthday Cake Blondies. There is cake mix! There are sprinkles! There are white chocolate chips! What’s not to love? You will adore these gooey bars not only for their simplicity, but also their amazing flavor! It should come as no surprise that I adore anything birthday cake flavored, but I’m guessing even you “non-birthday cake believers” will enjoy these too. This is perfect for those instances when you really NEED A BAKED GOOD, but you are working with limited time or funds (the fact that I will be working full-time student teaching for the entire semester while getting paid exactly zero dollars is becoming very real). Not only are these bars easy to make, but they will be ready to eat in a jiffy! You will have just enough time to go take a hot shower, put on your robe, and get Netflix all ready to go.

IMG_0502

Birthday Cake Blondies (from Sally’s Baking Addiction)

1 box white cake mix (I use Pillsbury)

1 egg

1/4 cup canola oil

1/3 cup milk

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

SPRINKLES (obviously)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Using a stick of butter (or a non-stick cooking spray), grease a 12×8 baking pan. I traditionally use butter solely because Pam frightens me, but either will work just as well!

In a large bowl, mix together cake mix, egg, and canola oil with a spatula. Slowly, add in milk. The batter should be very thick and sticky.

Next, mix in the white chocolate chips. Finally, add in sprinkles! (As many as you feel appropriate – I usually add about 1/2 cup, but I realize this may be extreme for some).

Pour batter into the greased baking pan. It will seem as though there is not enough batter to cover the pan, so you may have to maneuver it slightly using your spatula. Don’t be concerned by how thin the layer covering the pan may seem to be, I promise you are doing it correctly! Top with additional sprinkles.

Bake for approximately 25 minutes. Look for the edges to turn golden brown. The bars may seem slightly undercooked in the middle. TRUST ME, THIS IS HOW YOU WANT THEM.

IMG_0501

Next, pour yourself a glass of milk, grab a fork, and start eating directly from the pan until your emotions have subsided. I’m only partially joking.

xx

Leave a Reply

