Drop Sugar Cookies With Homemade Frosting

IMG_0524

Hello friends.

I must warn you now. This recipe gets a little fancy. By fancy, I mean that it requires a mixer. “WHOA,” you are probably thinking, “AM I STILL ON SPRINKLEDWITHLIV? WHY DO WE HAVE TO USE A MIXER? WHO IS THIS PERSON?” Rest assured, it is still me. I am here to promise to you that this recipe is insanely easy, and even more insanely delicious.

Sugar cookies are such a classic baking staple. Everyone should have a simple sugar cookie recipe in their arsenal! However, the problem with sugar cookies is that they often are not simple! Most recipes require chilling the dough for hours at a time, rolling the dough out, and then spending a ridiculous amount of time cutting it out into cute shapes. I am all for cute shapes. At Christmas time, one of my favorite activities is making great use out of our camel cookie cutter. Oh, you don’t have a camel cookie cutter for Christmas? How weird. The thing is, I don’t always have the “Christmas vacation” amount of lazy pajama hours necessary for all of this busy work!

A few months ago, I came across this recipe on Instagram, and I was so excited! I copied and saved the link, then I promptly forgot about it. While searching back in the depths of my camera roll for a photo, I was reminded of this delicious little recipe from Lulu The Baker. I could not be more pleased with the results! Would you just look at how cute they are?

IMG_0523

Also, I forgot to mention one thing. ATOP THESE BEAUTIES SITS HOMEMADE FROSTING. That’s right. I made frosting. All by myself. Initially, I though “meh, I’ll just skip this step and let Pillsbury handle this one.” However, I realized that then I would have to go to the grocery store to buy said frosting. Laziness won (hey, it was a Saturday morning), and I whipped up a batch of homemade frosting. I have no regrets. This vanilla frosting is light, fluffy, and spreads on cookies like a dream. Promise me you will try it just this once! I promise you have all of the necessary ingredients in your pantry.

Drop Sugar Cookies

1/2 cup softened butter (can be done in the microwave)

1/2 cup Crisco 

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

2 1/2 cups flour

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 Tablespoons milk

SPRINKLES (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, mix together softened butter, Crisco, and sugar until well combined. Next, add the egg and vanilla. The mixture should be super fluffy!

In another bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking soda.

While mixing, slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Once well mixed, add the milk and mix until fully incorporated. (OPTIONAL: At this point, you may choose to mix sprinkles into the dough for a “funfetti” effect!)

Roll dough into Tablespoon sized balls, and place onto the prepared baking sheet. If you prefer a flatter cookie, use a drinking glass to gently “smoosh” down the tops of the balls of dough.

Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Homemade Frosting

1 stick softened butter

1 lb. powdered sugar

pinch of salt

1/4 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

In a bowl, combine all ingredients with a mixer. Beat until fully combined and fluffy! SPREAD ONTO EVERYTHING.

IMG_0526

Sunday afternoons are perfect for eating cookies. In fact, I am eating a cookie as I type this. I suggest you make these ASAP. You will thank me after a long Monday back “in the real world”.

xx

P.S. I would like to give a special birthday shoutout to the littlest member of our family, Stella. Today, Stella, who is a miniature goldendoodle, turns two years old! She is illiterate and doesn’t know how to use a computer, so hopefully someone will pass along this message. (I would like to add that Stella tried a small part of a sugar cookie, and she seemed to greatly enjoy it!)

IMG_0551

Leave a Reply

