Sprinkled Banana Bread Mini Muffins and Loaves

IMG_0568

Hello friends!

If you are new to my blog, I’m so happy you are here! Thank you for taking the time to stop by and read this post (or at least the first two sentences). I promise you will like my yummy recipes and (mostly) cute pictures.

Last night, on my Instagram (come follow me! just search sprinkledwithliv), I asked for ideas. I was planning for the blog, and I wanted input from my people! For me, Sprinkled With Liv has been a super fun little project and a wonderful creative outlet. However, I always want to insure that I am providing content that is interesting and appealing to YOU. Three of my very dear friends, Jenny, Natalie, and Kaitie all suggested that I share a muffin post! I have had this recipe from Averie Cooks bookmarked for AGES, so I was thrilled. I felt as though I really owed these ladies this one. Know why? ALL THREE OF THEM HAVE SURVIVED LIVING WITH ME. How crazy is that? I would like to think that I am fairly easy to live with. However, I do make absurd amounts of popcorn, frequently stroll about sans pants, shower an alarming amount of times daily, and go to bed at about 9 pm. YOU GIRLIES DESERVE THIS. Love you all mucho!

These muffins are not only adorable (hello, sprinkles), but they are also absolutely delicious. They are light and fluffy, and they are also incredibly moist! A huge part of this comes from the banana Greek yogurt used in the batter. Not only does it add an additional “burst” of banana flavor, but it also keeps these muffins from becoming dry. This recipe is perfect for a lazy Saturday morning in your jammies! You will reap the rewards the rest of the weekend.

IMG_0570

Sprinkled Banana Bread Mini Muffins

(Note: Please do not be alarmed by the long ingredient list. Trust me, with the exception of the yogurt, these are all items you have in the pantry or fridge!)

3 ripe bananas

1 large egg

1 5.3 oz container of Oikos banana cream Greek yogurt

1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil

1/2 packed brown sugar 

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

SPRINKLES (optional, but necessary)

Preheat the oven to 350. Prepare your muffin pan (either with baking cups, or baking spray). I used a mini muffin pan, but you could also use a regular muffin pan!

Mash bananas. In a large bowl, combine bananas, egg, yogurt, oil, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. Use a whisk to mix ingredients! There will be lumps from the bananas.

Next, add flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt to batter. Mix with whisk until just combined. Be careful to not overmix, as this will cause the muffins to be tough.

Pour muffin batter into the prepared muffin tin. Top with sprinkles! If you have additional batter, I highly recommend baking into a mini loaf.

Baking time – Mini muffins: 10-15 minutes. Regular muffins: 20-25 minutes. Mini loaf: 25-30 minutes. You will know your muffins or loaf are ready when the tops are springy and “set”, and a toothpick inserted into the middle can be removed cleanly.

IMG_0574

Fun, right? How adorable would this be as a little unexpected gift for someone dear to you? Spread the love, and share a muffin.

xx

Leave a Reply

