Oatmeal Reese’s Cookies

IMG_0659

 

Hello friends.

First of all, I apologize for posting this so late! Originally, I had planned on writing this up last night. However, due to technical difficulties, fate would just not have it. So, here we are.

My family is all very supportive of this little blog endeavor. For the most part, they like everything that I make (obviously). However, the one person in my life who is a little trickier to sway is my dad. “Do you have to put sprinkles on everything?” he asked me last week while scraping off the top of his piece of banana bread. “YES, DAD,” I wanted to respond. “SPRINKLES ARE EVERYTHING!” After some contemplation, I realized he was correct. I probably don’t need to sprinkle each baked good (see how much self control I have?). I left sprinkles out of this cookie. I think they are probably better without anyway (GASP).

I would like to consider myself a somewhat simple girl. I have few wants beyond Netflix, pajamas, string cheese, and Taylor Swift. However, all of those I could technically do without. The things I REALLY TRULY NEED are all included in this cookie: peanut butter, chocolate, and oatmeal. OH-EM-GEE. It’s as if every delightful thing in this world came together in one perfect recipe. I cannot wait for you to try these delicious cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction!

The oatmeal makes these treats basically granola-like and therefore healthy. AMIRITE? And the peanut butter adds protein. There ya go, now you can eat them for breakfast! In all honesty, this is probably my favorite recipe I have made thus far! I first tried these a few months ago. THE JOHNSON FAMILY JUST ABOUT DIED. Within a week, I had made two batches. WE COULD NOT BE STOPPED. Something about these rich and chewy cookies, packed with yummy Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, is impossible to resist! Also, you will LOVE that this recipe comes together super quickly and easily, no mixer required!

IMG_0675

 

Oatmeal Reese’s Cookies

3/4 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup butter (melted)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 brown sugar (packed)

1 egg

1/2 cup peanut butter (creamy)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups quick oats

1 and 1/2 cups Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (chopped up)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Place to the side.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sugar, brown sugar, and egg. Next, use the whisk to mix in the peanut butter. After that, mix in the vanilla extract using the whisk. Finally, combine the wet and dry ingredients in the large bowl using a rubber spatula. Add the oats and a heaping cup of chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups to the dough, mixing in gently and carefully. Save the additional Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups to top the cookies with.

Roll the dough into large balls, about 2-3 tablespoons each. Place balls of dough on each cookie sheet. Bake for 11-12 minutes. You will want the cookies to be slightly under-baked when you remove from the oven. They will continue to bake on the baking sheet once removed. Press several Peanut Butter Cup pieces onto the top of each cookie.

IMG_0669

 POUR YOURSELF A LARGE GLASS OF MILK, AND TAKE A SEAT. Your world is about to be rocked!

xx

One thought on “Oatmeal Reese’s Cookies

Leave a Reply

