Cake Batter Truffles (No Bake)

IMG_0788Hello friends!

Do you ever have a day that is just BLAH? Today has been one of those days. Nothing awful in particular has happened, it just hasn’t been the most fabulous of Mondays. It’s been super rainy and gloomy. I’m home alone. I got in a fight with someone I’m close to. There is a mysterious insect bite on my tummy. When she saw me this morning, Stella peed EVERYWHERE with excitement. Also, I move tomorrow, and I should technically be packing up all of my belongings.

I HAVE DECIDED THAT INSTEAD I MUST BAKE (by bake, I simply mean create a delicious treat). And now I feel better. If you are having a yucky Monday, I highly recommend doing the same. Trust me, these Cake Batter Truffles can handle your feelings. Best part? Absolutely no baking required, and they come together within 20 minutes! You will love the rich taste of these little bites! They are packed with cute little sprinkles. The vanilla almond bark coating adds a crunch, while the inside is moist and chewy.

NOTE: The original recipe from Deliciously Sprinkled calls for using a food processor to combine ingredients (as instructed below). I, too, used a food processor, though mostly because it gives me a feeling of great power, and also my mom got one for Christmas. If you don’t have one, I imagine that a hand held mixer would work just as well!

IMG_0780

Cake Batter Truffles

10 tablespoons butter (softened)

1 and 1/2 cups Funfetti cake mix

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup flour 

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

12 oz. vanilla almond bark

assorted sprinkles for decorating

Get out your food processor. Rub your hands together and giggle with glee in excitement (or whatever).

In the food processor, dump butter, Funfetti cake mix, sugar, flour, and vanilla extract. Pulse until well mixed. The dough will form little clumps.

Put dough into a medium sized bowl. Mix in sprinkles to your liking.

Use a tablespoon or medium sized cookie dough scoop to form balls of dough. Place balls onto a baking sheet. Put the baking sheet in the freezer for dough to cool. Allow to cool for about 10 minutes.

While the balls of dough are cooling, melt vanilla almond bark in the microwave in a glass bowl. Be careful to not overheat the almond bark!

Remove the balls from the freezer. Dip each ball into the almond bark, being sure to fully cover each ball of dough. Using a fork, remove from the almond bark and place back onto the baking sheet. Cover in sprinkles. Return truffles to the fridge to allow the almond bark to harden.

How sweet are these?

IMG_0778

I drizzled additional almond bark over the top for attempted visual appeal.

IMG_0752

I originally made this recipe Saturday morning as a special treat for my sister’s 21ST BIRTHDAY. Naturally, the second her friends walked into her apartment yesterday before dinner I forced each of them to taste test one. They all seemed to enjoy! That, or they are great liars. I’d love to hear what you think! I’d like to add that after “taste testing” the truffles, we proceeded to go eat dinner. Then, we polished off a “Big Ass Ice Cream Pie” (pictured above). Yikes! Off for a much needed run now that this rain has stopped.

xx

2 thoughts on “Cake Batter Truffles (No Bake)

Leave a Reply

