Pumpkin Doughnut Muffins

IMG_0796

YOU GUYS.

Today was my first day of kindergarten as a student teacher! I am just barely alive as I type out this post. HOWEVER, I promised I would post this recipe, so here I am!

A few words about kindergarten: I THINK I HAVE FOUND MY PEOPLE. I so wish that all of you could have met the 24 tiny and precious little humans I spent my day with. They are sweet and funny and curious and imaginative and overall just the absolute best. Kindergarten rocks, I cannot begin to say that enough! There is something so amazing and calming about feeling as though you are EXACTLY where God intended you to be. (Good to keep in mind on those days I want to weep.)

Here I am. (This was taken near the end of the day, hence my somewhat frazzled appearance.)

IMG_0877

Yesterday, I decided I would need a special treat since today was the first day of school (duh). I stumbled across this Pumpkin Doughnut Muffin recipe from Martha Stewart, and I just knew I HAD to try it out? Pumpkin? Doughnut? Muffins? ALL OF MY FAVORITE THINGS. One thing I really love about these muffins is that they are not overly sweet. Not counting the cinnamon sugar topping, there is only 3/4 cup of brown sugar in the entire recipe! This makes them a great morning treat. The pumpkin puree helps to make the muffins dense and moist, while also adding great flavor! You will love this fun “seasonal” muffin! (I feel as though I should confess that I ate one this morning while also drinking a Pumpkin Spice Latte. I LOVE SEASONAL FOODS.)

Pumpkin Doughnut Muffins

10 tablespoons unsalted butter (room temperature)

3 cups flour

2 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/3 cup buttermilk

1 and 1/4 cup pumpkin puree (use 15 oz. can)

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 large eggs

Cinnamon Sugar Coating

3/4 cup sugar

2 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/4 cup unsalted butter (melted)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare muffin tins with baking spray or butter and flour.

Get out three bowls. In a small bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree and buttermilk. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, allspice, and salt. In a large bowl, use a mixer to combine butter and brown sugar until mixture is whipped and fluffy. To the butter and brown sugar, mix in eggs one at a time.

Next, add the flour mixture and the puree mixture to the butter and brown sugar mixture. Alternate adding into the brown sugar and butter mixture (e.g. add in flour mixture, add in pumpkin mixture, add in flour, etc.). Transfer batter into the prepared muffin tins. Bake for 30 minutes. Check with a toothpick to be sure they are fully baked!

Once muffins are baked, remove from the oven and transfer to wire cooling rack. Meanwhile, melt the butter for the sugar coating. In a small bowl mix together cinnamon and sugar. Brush the tops of each muffin with melted butter, then apply cinnamon sugar topping. Trust me, you will want A LOT. These muffins are incredibly dense and moist, so it may seem as though they aren’t fully cooked, because their consistency differs from a normal “muffin”. I promise you didn’t underbake them! I wouldn’t lead you astray.

IMG_0792

The orange-y color of the muffins doesn’t allow for the most beautiful photographs, but I promise their moist pumpkin-y goodness will make up for their appearance! Also, the crunch of the cinnamon sugar on top? TO DIE FOR. (I also highly recommend spreading on just a TEENY BIT of butter. Because butter makes everything better.)

Thinking of you this week teachers, students, and moms and dads! WE CAN DO THIS.

xx

Leave a Reply

