Coconut Zucchini Bread

IMG_1012

Hello, my friends.

I love my all of my little kindergarten people in my life, I sure sure do. They are creative and kind and smart and silly. They are all kinds of wonderful. They tell funny stories and wear cute outfits. They love to play games and dance to songs that get our wiggles out. That being said, they sure do make me TIRED. Last week, I planned out a math lesson I was (actually) really excited about. It included a lot of student involvement and fun learning activities. “Yep,” I thought to myself, “this is going to be great. I’m such an awesome student teacher. The kids will LOVE this.” I got all my materials ready, mapped out my lesson, and waited for the right time. “I ROCK,” I told myself. The lesson gets underway, and I’m feeling pretty confident. It isn’t long before a little boy sitting up front makes eye contact with me. “MISS JOHNSON,” he interjects. “Not now, little child (insert his actual name),” I replied. “This is important math time!” “BUT MISS JOHNSON,” he shouts, “THIS IS STUPID AND BORING.”

Let’s just take a moment to wave goodbye to my teaching self-esteem. A FIVE YEAR OLD THOUGHT MY PLAN WAS STUPID. Some days, I’ve learned, are just like this. Some days you are the coolest rock star in the room, and some days you are just the dumb student teacher. That is okay. It’s okay to be the rookie sometimes. It’s okay to have an idea that doesn’t quite work out as planned. The best thing about teaching, and life, is that sometimes you can just make things up as you go. Sometimes, Plan B is even better than Plan A. Sometimes, your dad brings home all sorts of zucchini from the farmer’s market, and the only real option is to make this SUPER DELICIOUS Coconut Zucchini Bread!

I know the idea of both zucchini and coconut in a baked good may be frightening to some. I understand this. I respect this. However, I absolutely IMPLORE you to at least give it a try! The coconut is sweet and adds wonderful texture. The zucchini is chock full of potassium, Vitamin C, and just makes you feel healthy. (Sometimes, that is enough.) You will love this moist and light bread! Though it is extra awesome served with a little butter on top, you really don’t need it! (This is saying a lot, especially coming from me.) This recipe also contains no actual butter in the batter at all! WIN.

 

IMG_0998

Coconut Zucchini Bread (from Two Peas and Their Pod)

3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1 and 1/2 cup shredded zucchini (squeeze and dry)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (room temperature)

1 large egg (room temperature)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup shredded sweetened coconut

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a 9×5 pan (loaf pan), and set to the side.

In a large bowl, combine both flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.

In a medium sized bowl, combine shredded zucchini (be sure to squeeze out excess liquid between two paper towels before adding to bowl), brown sugar, granulated sugar, melted coconut oil, Greek yogurt, egg, and vanilla. I used a whisk to combine all of these ingredients.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir together until just combined. Be careful to not over-mix. Next, add in the shredded coconut.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes. (My loaf only took about 50 minutes, but it was baked in an oven that bakes VERY hot and fast – thanks, mom). Check to see the the loaf is fully baked by inserting a toothpick into the center. If the toothpick can be cleanly removed, then the bread is ready to be removed from the oven.

Place pan onto a cooling rack. Allow loaf to cool for at least ten minutes in the pan before attempting to remove. Slice and serve. YUMMMMMMMMMM.

IMG_1015

I hope your Monday night is filled with walks and talks, yummy dinner, funny tv, and hugs from those your love! YOU CAN TOTALLY ROCK THIS WEEK.

xx

Leave a Reply

