Chocolate Chip Reese’s Pieces Cookies

IMG_1183

Hello friends.

This week was an Iowa bye-week. Due to this, I had all sorts of extra time yesterday. How did I choose to spend this time? Great question. First of all, I was roped into running the Trick or Trot 5k for the Waterloo Community Schools Foundation. Over the past few months, I have sort of gotten “into running”. I’ve been trying to run at least three or four times a week. By “running”, I mean that several times a week after school I change into my most comfiest comfies and take a casual jog out and about in my grandparents’ neighborhood. My usual route is only about two and a half miles, so I am by no means doing anything big or crazy. I run so that I sleep better at night, eat more cookies, and feel stronger and more proud of myself.

“Blah blah blah, Liv,” you are probably thinking. I’m going to provide you with some visual to make this a little more entertaining. I am a TERRIBLE runner. This is why I have never jumped on the running bandwagon in the past. I am slow, uncoordinated, and my feet shoot out in every single direction possible (not an exaggeration). I essentially look like a blind baby gazelle out in the road. On top of this, I enjoy listening to “pump it up” (lol) music while running, and I have been known to sing along. I realize how embarrassing and frightening all these elements must look combined. The idea of running in a place where I would know lots of people didn’t sound particularly enticing. Still, I agreed because I love my mom and dad and also public education (I could talk about my love of public education for years, but I will simply leave it at that for today).

It ended up being an absolute blast! It was cold, windy, and even a little rainy. The race began, and my dad immediately darted off. BYE, DAD. My mom, the sporty marathoner she is, told me that she would “match my pace”, which was simply an incredibly nice way of agreeing to slow down to my glacial speed. God bless her, she ran with me the whole way. The route was sprinkled with Waterloo friends cheering the runners on. When we (eventually) crossed the finish line, I was so happy and proud to have done it with my mama alongside me. We rewarded ourselves with Starbucks and these AMAZING cookies I am so excited to share with you today!

To me, there is no better combination in a cookie than chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal. If you don’t believe me, then check out my recipe for Oatmeal Reese’s Cookies (you will die, these are a Johnson family favorite). When I saw Something Swanky’s recipe for Chocolate Chip Reese’s Pieces Cookies I just knew I had to check them out for myself. You will love these cookies because they have all the classic flavor of a chocolate chip cookie, except with a twist. The oatmeal and Reese’s Pieces add something new and different. PLUS, OATMEAL IN A COOKIE ALWAYS MAKES ME FEEL A LITTLE HEALTHIER, YA KNOW?

IMG_1180

Chocolate Chip Reese’s Pieces Cookies

1 cup butter (softened)

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour (AP)

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1 and 1/2 cups Reese’s Pieces

Preheat oven to 325 F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together softened butter and sugars until fully combined and creamy. Next, add in egg, egg yolk, and vanilla. Mix well between each addition. Set aside.

In a medium size bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Add dry mixture into wet mixture in two parts. Mix until just combined. Do not overmix.

Add chocolate chips and Reese’s Pieces. Be sure they are evenly distributed throughout the dough.

Use a cookie scoop (or tablespoon) to scoop dough and place on cookie sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until edges are golden.

TRUST ME, YOU WOULD RATHER HAVE THESE UNDERBAKED. (My dad prefers cookies that are still basically raw, but I don’t recommend that). I suggest removing cookies just before they appear to be done – they will finish cooking on the sheet once it’s been removed. Enjoy!

IMG_1186

One of the things I love most about these cookies is that Reese’s Pieces are naturally (obviously, nothing is that natural about Reese’s Pieces) fall colored, so they are perfect for Halloween! This recipe makes about 4 dozen cookies, so it would be perfect to whip up for any Halloween festivities you may have this week!

I hope your Sunday is filled with family, faith, and lots of yummy food!

xx

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Reese’s Pieces Cookies

Leave a Reply

