Lazy Girl Chocolate Chip Bars

IMG_1219

Hello, friends.

Let’s talk for a minute about the odd phenomenon we call Daylight Savings. At first, on Sunday, I was ALL IN FAVOR OF THIS WONDERFUL AND MIRACULOUS IDEA. An extra hour to sleep? COUNT ME IN. It was bright in sunny in the morning, and I felt GREAT. The weather was beautiful, I was fresh off an awesome Halloween weekend (Natalie, Nick, Dane, and Kaitie, there are no other people for whom I would rather be a fifth wheel – blessings to you), and LIFE WAS GOOD. “This is a genius idea,” I thought to myself. “I LOVE WHOEVER THOUGHT OF THIS, YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING!”

Then, nighttime fell. AT 5:00. Immediately, my body shut down. Must put on jammies. Must burrow in fuzzy blankets. Must take a bubble bath. Must go to bed at 7:30. Must eat only foods that are fried or covered in cheese (or both). It continued to send these messages to my brain. Monday was when it hurt me the most. On Tuesday, when it was 8 pm and I was in my nightly bubble bath, I decided a needed a cookie (not atypical). Can I let you in on a secret? I have a secret baking obsession, and I haven’t yet shared it with you. GASP. I know, I’m awful.

This obsession began several weeks ago when I was in great need of something easy that contained chocolate and did not require a trip to the store. That is when I discovered these HEAVENLY bars from Lovin’ From The Oven. The original recipe only contains chocolate chips, but I highly recommend adding some Reese’s Pieces or whatever other old chocolate Halloween candy you have on hand.

You will adore that these bars come together in absolutely no time at all! They require only one bowl and no mixer – a major win win for me.

IMG_1220

Lazy Girl Chocolate Chip Bars

1 and 2/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 stick butter (melted)

1 egg

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup assorted candies (Reese’s Pieces) – optional

Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare and 8×8 baking pan with cooking spray.

In a medium sized bowl, cream together melted butter and brown sugar. This can be done with a whisk – no need for a mixer. Next, add in egg, vanilla, and salt.

Slowly mix in flour until just combined. Finally, stir in chocolate chips and whatever other assorted goodies you may choose to add! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND SOMETHING WITH PEANUT BUTTER.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Smooth top with spatula. Press additional candies into the top (not required, but definitely helps with visual appeal). Bake for 25-30 minutes.

As usual, I’m going to suggest that you under-bake these bars. Remove from the oven as soon as the edges begin to brown! If this frightens you, check middle with a toothpick. The bars will continue to bake slightly in the pan once removed. Whatever you do, DO NOT OVERBAKE. I did this once and it gave the bars a scary burned caramel taste from all the brown sugar.

IMG_1213

Enjoy with a large glass of milk. Or wine. Or really whatever.

I hope that your week starts off wonderfully and is filled with yummy treats and lots of sleep!

xx

2 thoughts on “Lazy Girl Chocolate Chip Bars

Leave a Reply

