Homemade Made Easy – Cosmic Brownies

IMG_1449

Hello there.

I have always been a sharer. Mostly of information. And feelings. Some might say that I am an over-sharer. I have never once been able to keep a secret from anyone. As I have gotten older, this hasn’t changed. I’m still the girl who cannot be trusted to keep anything quiet. I think that this is partially due to excitement. If there is something that I am REAL EXCITED about, there is no way I am keeping it to myself. Another reason I am such a sharer is because I think life is pretty weird. The human experience in itself is indescribable. All we have is each other to make sense of all of this. Life is enriched and made sense of when we allow others to participate. On our own, things are confusing and messy. Yet, when we weave our stories with other’s, things become much clearer.

I feel lucky to be surrounded by people who both support and encourage this sharing, people who, in turn, share their lives with me. One of these people is my dear friend, Kaitie. There is a comfort found in those who have seen you at your best and at your worst, and I was reminded of this the other night when we had a sleepover. Freshman year of college tends to expose both the best and the worst of people pretty quickly, so I’m glad I had Kaitie by my side. As roommates, we shared everything. One of my favorite Kaitie stories that sums up us, and our friendship, pretty accurately, took place on our VERY FIRST NIGHT OF COLLEGE EVER.

Somehow, we were invited to a football party that would take place that evening. We were feeling *PRETTY GOOD* about ourselves as we got ready for that evening, most likely wearing matching Gap jeans and some conservative tops in a neutral tone (do we scream wild, or what?). The party was to take place in a football house that was located, as we soon found out, about a mile from campus. Drake University, the school I attended freshman year, is located in a part of Des Moines that is very old and very low socioeconomic status. Once you leave campus, things can get a little sketchy. My freshman year alone, my parents received at least five calls about shootings that occurred near campus. The night of the party, Kaitie and I hauled our little butts all the way to the address we were told. Anxiously, we stood outside. “I’ll follow you inside!” “No, you go first!” Time passed, yet we didn’t move off the sidewalk. We didn’t know anyone, and we didn’t know what to do. Once again, we made eye contact. We both knew what needed to happen. An hour later, you could find us in our (adorable) dorm room, cuddled up on our futon, a big bowl of popcorn and m&ms in hand, watching a Law & Order: SVU marathon. I had found my person.

This is why I knew Kaitie would appreciate my newest recipe: HOMEMADE COSMIC BROWNIES. I talked them up before she came, and we drooled over them before dinner. However, we decided we would wait and indulge later while we watched a movie! WE WERE HYPED. When it came to movie time, Kaitie immediately passed out on the couch, since she had been up early that morning working (God bless). Needless to say, no brownies were consumed at that point in time.

These brownies (adapted from Handle The Heat), are NOT for the faint of heart. They toe the line between brownie and fudge and are covered in a HEAVENLY homemade frosting. Cute mini m&ms top the decadent dessert. If you like(d) the Little Debbie version, you will LOVE this “grown-up” adaption! Did I mention this recipe only requires ONE bowl and no mixer?

IMG_1439

Homemade Made Easy – Cosmic Brownies

10 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup and 2 tablespoons cocoa powder (sifted)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs and 1 large egg yolk

1 tablespoon corn syrup

2/3 cup flour

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon salt

CANDY TOPPING (I used mini m&ms)

1/2 cup heavy cream (for frosting)

1 and 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips (for frosting)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Either use a disposable 8×8 pan, or line an 8×8 pan with foil. Regardless, spray with cooking spray, and set aside.

In a large glass bowl, microwave butter until completely melted. Add sugar, brown sugar, and cocoa powder to melted butter. Use a spatula (or, my personal favorite, a fork) to combine. If mixture is still hot, allow to cool for several minutes.

Next, add vanilla, eggs, egg yolk, and corn syrup to the mixture. Stir until combined. Finally, add flour, cornstarch, and salt. Mix only until ingredients are combined. Be careful to not over-mix. Pour batter into prepared ban.

Bake for 25 minutes. Check to see that batter is completely baked with a toothpick, if necessary. Once done, remove from oven and cool.

For the frosting, pour the heavy cream in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for one minute. Remove from the microwave and add in chocolate chips. Allow to sit for about 2-3 minutes before stirring. If necessary, microwave additionally for 15 second intervals until the mixture stirs smooth. Pour atop cooled brownies. Cover in mini m&ms!

IMG_1416

Stay warm out there, my friends! I’m typing this while wrapped up in a fuzzy blankie on the couch, and I have no intentions of moving any time in the near future.

xx

Leave a Reply

