Coconut Cupcakes (WITH BABY ANIMALS)

IMG_1478

Hello friends.

If these cupcakes aren’t the cutest thing you’ve seen all day, then I would love to switch lives and see what you do all day. Run a panda kindergarten? (This is a real thing we learned about at school Monday, thank you very much.) Snuggle little puppies all day? Reunite lost pets with their owners? Professional YouTuber who compiles videos of babies trying lemons? For everyone else, CAN YOU EVEN?

I’ve been dying to use these cute little cupcake liners and toppers that my friend Natalie found for me this past summer! I decided to make cupcakes for teachers at the school in which I will be long-term subbing soon! For those who liked coconut, they seemed to be a hit. They are light and fluffy and so super easy to put together. THANK YOU, MARTHA STEWART! In the recipe that I used, Martha included a recipe for homemade frosting that involves a candy thermometer. I couldn’t even tell you what else you have to do, because I immediately stopped reading. “I’LL JUST PASS,” I thought to myself. “PILLSBURY HAS THIS ONE COVERED.” Honestly? No regrets. Feel free to sub in your own favorite frosting recipe if you feel the need, but, trust me, store bought vanilla will do the trick. Once you dunk each cupcake in shredded coconut, you won’t even notice!

This recipe would be PERFECT for a time when you don’t want to use a boxed cake mix, but also don’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of time/energy/monies. With the exception of coconut milk and frosting, I had all other ingredients on hand! GET EXCITED TO HAVE A HEAVENLY SMELLING HOME OH, SO SOON.

IMG_1481

Coconut Cupcakes

1 and 3/4 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shredded coconut (sweetened) plus additional for topping

6 ounces butter (softened)

1 and 1/3 cup sugar

2 large eggs and 2 large egg whites (room temperature)

1 and 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk

FROSTING

Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare a muffin tin with liners (I just used paper). My recipe made about 18 cupcakes.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and shredded coconut. I find that it’s easiest to use a fork for this!

In a mixing bowl, cream softened butter and sugar. Do this until it is fluffy! Next, one at a time, add in the eggs and egg whites. After that, mix in the vanilla. Finally, slowly mix in the coconut milk. The batter may seem initially very runny, that is okay. DO NOT BE ALARMED.

Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. I did so in about three equal parts. Once all ingredients are combined, fill cupcake liners so that they are 3/4 full.

Bake for about 20 minutes. Test with a toothpick to see that they are done! They will appear to not be fully cooked. Remove from oven, and place on a wire cooling rack.

Once cupcakes are cooled, top with LOTS of frosting and dunk in a bowl of shredded coconut. Serve with milk, or, (dare I?) warmed up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream (!).

IMG_1485

Have you seen the recent Oprah commercial in which she shouts “I LOVE BREAD”? If not, please look it up immediately. I FEEL VERY CONNECTED WITH OPRAH NOW. It has really made me feel much better about how much I embrace carbs/the importance of breads. IT’S COLD. IT’S WINTER. WE NEED THIS. Go make these cupcakes.

Enjoy!

xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

