Puppy Chow Cookies

IMG_1517

Hello friends.

I have always been a “good eater”. Last night, over a heavenly dinner of BBQ pork, coleslaw, and homemade cornbread with honey glaze (!), my friend Haley and I giggled about this as we inhaled our meal. PROUD MEMBERS OF THE CLEAN PLATE CLUB. We then proceeded to get ice cream immediately following this (I cannot say no to monster cookie ice cream…). Ever since I have been small, I have been willing to eat (almost) anything without complaint. I love trying new foods in new places and attempting to create dishes on my own. I attribute my strong connections of food with family and warm memories to this fondness for eating. Though I enjoy meals as much as the next person, my main love for eating comes in the form of snacking. In fact, I prefer to forego real meals in place of snacking throughout the day.

SNACKING IS LIFE. Due to this, I have a granola bar on my person at all times. This is not a joke. In college, I would pack a juice box and Lara bar in my purse every Saturday morning for tailgates. We would be in the middle of a large drunken frat tailgate in some nasty backyard surrounded by people shotgunning beers, and I would casually pull out a little something to munch on. I blame my mom for this constant need to have food “just in case”. Goodness forbid we so much as run errands without bringing along some pretzels or trail mix. At my home, snacking is not only accepted, it is encouraged. My sister and I would return home from school every single afternoon to make a huge bowl of stove popcorn with m&ms. We couldn’t go to bed without a little nighttime snack either (usually a scoop of ice cream). I am not a snack snob, though obviously some snacks rank higher than others: Red Vines, flavor blasted Goldfish, Ritz crackers and cheese, Cuties, and HONEYCRISP APPLES WITH COOKIE BUTTER.

However, out of all the snacks I enjoy and consume, puppy chow has to be my favorite. THE PEANUT BUTTER. THE CHOCOLATE. THE POWDERED SUGAR. How could a snack possibly get any better? When a friend sent me the link to these amazing cookies from Cookies and Cups, I KNEW WHAT NEEDED TO HAPPEN. You are going to love these chocolatey and chewy peanut butter cookies topped in a frosting that is TO DIE FOR. My dad ate three of these for breakfast on Sunday. That’s how you know they’re good. Another awesome thing about this recipe is how quickly and easily it comes together! No mixing dry and wet ingredients separately, you only need one bowl!

IMG_1507

Puppy Chow Cookies

1/2 cup butter (softened)

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/4 cup flour

(For the frosting)

1 and 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

1/4 cup butter

2 cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (COOKIES WON’T STICK AND ALSO YOU DON’T HAVE TO CLEAN THE COOKIE SHEET = WIN WIN).

In a large bowl, mix together softened butter and peanut butter until creamy. Next, add in the two sugars, and mix on high until smooth (about 1-2 minutes).

Add egg, baking soda, vanilla, and salt, and mix until completely combined. Finally, slowly mix in the flour.

Roll dough into tablespoon sized balls, and place onto cookie sheet. Use the palm of your hand to slightly flatten the balls. Bake for 9 minutes. Edges will just appear to brown slightly. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

In a microwave safe bowl, melt chocolate chips, peanut butter, and butter for 45 seconds. Stir until the mixture is completely free of lumps. If necessary, microwave for additional time in 10 second intervals. Pour powdered sugar into a separate bowl for dunking.

YOU NOW HAVE TWO OPTIONS. I recommend the first, which is to use the chocolate peanut butter as a frosting, and spread generously on top of each cookie before dunking the frosted top into the powdered sugar. The second option, which I also tried, is to completely submerge each cookie into the frosting mixture, removing with a fork, then coating in powdered sugar.

I found that the frosting didn’t harden in the way that I hoped. This meant that you basically had to stand over the kitchen sink while consuming a cookie in order to avoid completely making a mess. It also was somewhat tricky to completely cover the cookies evenly without them breaking. HOWEVER, IT IS STILL DELICIOUS, so that call is completely up to you!

IMG_1509

SNACK ON.

xx

 

 

One thought on “Puppy Chow Cookies

Leave a Reply

