Cinnamon Apple Snickerdoodle Bread

IMG_2117

Hello friends.

Happy Labor Day! I hope your day was spent with the ones who make your heart happy and lots of yummy snacks.

Two weeks ago (I’m rounding up here, because it feels like about one million years) I started teaching kindergarten! I am now an officially employed full-time working woman (benefits and all!). That means this is my first real Labor Day as a member of the workforce. TWO WEEKS IN, AND I’VE EARNED IT.

Let me tell you a little about kindergarteners. They are some super cool people. They are great at smiling and making friends and coloring and asking questions and KEEPING IT REAL. Every morning, they come to school infectiously excited. To them, each day is something new and wonderful. Isn’t that great? It’s hard to be in a bad mood when I have my classroom coffee pot going and 26 of the sweetest little people working together to build a community. Heaven heaven heaven. I feel oh-so lucky to have a job that I adore this much.

HOWEVER, kindergarten isn’t all crafts and hugs (those those both are incredibly important). It’s A LOT of management, planning, delegation, and stress. I AM IN CHARGE OF 26 HUMANS. WHO OKAYED THIS?! At the end of each day, I am EXHAUSTED. I can’t decide if working full-time has turned me into a baby or an old lady. Regardless, each night when 8:30 rolls around, I begin to contemplate when an appropriate time for bed would be. By 9:30, I’m snug as a bug and fast asleep.

This is why Labor Day was the biggest blessing ever. I spent the weekend watching Iowa football (yippee!), hanging out with the people I love, drinking lots of coffee, reading (finally got around to Me After You by Jojo Moyes, I’ll keep you posted!), getting caught up on laundry/sleep, and (MOST IMPORTANTLY) baking! This morning I whipped up a double batch (a little bit of an over-commitment on my part) of this delicious Apple Cinnamon Snickerdoodle Bread. I found the recipe on Cookies and Cups and adapted it slightly.

You are going to love this bread for it’s delicious flavor, sweet apple chunks, and crunchy cinnamon sugar topping! It’s the perfect “intro to fall” recipe, and it will make your house smell AMAZING. Our whole apartment smelled like an explosion of goodness today. I chose to use mini loaf pans for this recipe, but you could definitely use a regular pan instead! I think the mini pans are just too darling, and they make great gifts! I’m taking one to my mentor teacher tomorrow as a thank you for dealing with my thousands of absurd and random questions (bless her).

IMG_2121

 

Cinnamon Apple Snickerdoodle Bread

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 and 1/2 cups AP flour

1/2 cup butter (room temperature)

1 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tablespoon cinnamon

2 eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/2 cup milk

1 Granny Smith apple

For the topping:

2 tablespoon granulated sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Prepare a 9×5 loaf pan with baking spray. I used mini loaf pans (mostly because I think they are cuter), so those work too! (Just be sure to adjust the baking time accordingly.)

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together salt, baking powder, and flour. I prefer to use a fork for this step – I think it works better than a big bulky whisk.

In a different bowl, use a hand mixer to beat together butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, and cinnamon. Do this on medium speed for about two minutes! Next, add in eggs and vanilla. Continue to beat on medium speed until the mixture is smooth in consistency.

After that, mix in flour mixture and milk in parts. Be sure that you start and end with the flour mixture (i.e. I did flour, milk, flour, milk, flour). Do this just until everything is combined – be sure to not over-mix.

Finally, stir in chopped apples with a spatula or large wooden spoon. Do so slowly and carefully. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan or mini loaf pans!

In a small bowl, whisk together sugar and cinnamon for the topping. Sprinkle on top of the batter prior to baking. MORE IS BETTER. Trust me, you can always shake off the excess after baking.

Bake for 50-55 minutes. You will know your bread is done when a toothpick can be inserted and cleanly removed! SOAK IN THE HEAVENLY AROMA OF THIS KITCHEN MASTERPIECE.

Now comes the most difficult part: waiting for the bread to cool. I about burned off my entire right hand in an attempt to remove a piece too early. DO SO AT YOUR OWN RISK. I have no regrets. (*sassy girl emoji*)

IMG_2123

WOULD YOU JUST LOOK AT IT?! It made my afternoon of kindergarten planning that much sweeter (pun intended) and easier.

Have a wonderful four day (!) week!

xx

Leave a Reply

