Chewy Oatmeal M&M Cookies

img_2375

Today I learned that my eye insurance does not, in fact, cover the complete cost of a year’s worth of contacts.I also learned that there is a co-pay for seeing the eye doctor for my annual exam.

“The contacts will come to $180 total, along with $15 for the exam,” the kindly man at the doctor’s office told me.

“Oh yes, yes, but without insurance, right?” I said smugly, super proud of my GROWN UP STATUS AS A WOMAN WITH HER OWN HEALTH INSURANCE.

“Uhm no, that’s with your insurance, actually,” he meekly responded, as he could already sense that, at 4:00 today, I was a lady to be reckoned with.

“‘SCUSE ME??!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!” I wanted to scream in his face, thinking about how that is about 1/2 my rent and lots of gas in my car for trips to Iowa City and a nice new wallet and and 40 million boxes of Girl Scout Cookies (an approximation, obviously).

I did not do this, no worries. Instead, I did what any rational and responsible grown-up would do…

…I called my mom.

IN OTHER NEWS, I made these super amazing Chewy Oatmeal M&M Cookies from Sally’s Baking Addiction this past weekend.I was inspired by eating an entire pint of Oatmeal Cookie Halo Top (recommend). “Hmm…not a bad idea,” I thought to myself with my spoon and my ice cream while in bed last Thursday night (true story).

These cookies are about as homey and comforting as it gets. The recipe calls for regular M&Ms, but I substituted for peanut butter M&Ms, because of course I did. I’m guessing dark chocolate would be delicious as well, or really whatever you have on hand. You will love the yummy cinnamon flavor of these chewy cookies, as well as the heavenly aroma that will waft from your oven while they are baking!

img_2384

Chewy Oatmeal M&M Cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 egg (room temperature)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 and 2/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup M&Ms (plus more to put on top)

Preheat your oven to 325 F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper (love this stuff).

In a large bowl, beat together (using a hand or stand mixer) the butter and sugars until creamy! Next, add in the egg and vanilla and beat until well mixed.

In a medium bowl, mix together oats, flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. I typically use a fork for this – sounds weird, but it really does the best job getting everything combined.

With the mixer on a lower speed, slowly p

our the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Once all is combined, stir in M&Ms.

NOW COMES THE HARD PART. THE DOUGH MUST CHILL IN THE FRIDGE FOR AT LEAST HALF HOUR. Trust me, this matters.

AFTER YOU HAVE A DONE YOUR TIME, form dough into tablespoon sized balls and place on cookie sheet (about 12 to sheet). Press extra M&Ms onto the top, so they look extra pretty.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. Cookies will not look done when you take them out, but they will continue to cook on the cookie sheet once you have removed them from the oven!

img_2386

See?! So yummy! Now all you need to do is pour yourself a big glass of milk, start applying to optometry school, and give me a call once you receive your license!

xx

Leave a Reply

