Funfetti Party Pudding Cookies (10 Things I Wish I Could Say to my Students’ Parents)

img_2383

Happy Day Before The Day Before Spring Break! (Teacher perks!)

I’m so excited to share this yummy recipe with you tonight! These Funfetti Pudding Party Cookies (a tongue twister, truly) are AMAZING. The pudding helps the cookies stay so super soft, and the flavor is a combo between a blondie and a sprinkle cookie (HEAVENLY). You’ll love how quickly they come together and the fact that they really only contain pantry ingredients.

BUT. Before we get to that, I must talk about school briefly (because what else is there to even talk about?) The past two months of school have been overwhelming, to say the least. Testing and data collection and interventions and planning and (last, but not least) conferences have taken their toll. I’ve been thinking nonstop about my students (you can ask Sammy for confirmation of this fact, and he can reference several late night phone calls). I’ve also been thinking about their parents. I have never been a parent, and I have no plans to be anytime soon. I don’t pretend to know how hard it must be to be a mom or a dad somedays. There are so many things I wish that I could say to the parents of my students.

Since many of these things I wish to say are not, in fact, things I should probably throw out there, I thought that putting my words down here instead might be an appropriate choice.

  1. Your kid rocks. Seriously. Today your five year old held my hand, complimented my (disastrous) hair, picked their nose, then told me about their favorite Pokemon. Your kid is curious and kind and I cannot get enough.
  2. Oreos aren’t an appropriate snack. I AM OBVIOUSLY A WOMAN WHO ENJOYS A COOKIE. However, I do not enjoy 26 little people all sugared up ALL AFTERNOON after enjoying several cookies during snacktime.
  3. I am a person, too. I make mistakes and say the wrong thing. Please show me the same kindness and respect you are teaching your child to show others.
  4. NO TO FASHION ACCESSORIES. Bangle bracelets on your child are not a good idea, they are a distraction. Headbands with things on springs on your child are not a good idea, they are a distraction. Anything with a bell on it on your child is not a good idea, it is a distraction. Fashion scarves on your child are not a good idea, they are a distraction. Super long beaded necklaces on your child are not a good idea, they are a distraction. Get it?
  5. Please pack me a lunch too, because the things your child is getting look DELICIOUS. Honestly, I will eat anything as long as I don’t have to prepare it myself. I am not opposed to Lunchables.
  6. Kindergarten is TOUGH WORK. I am actually serious here. Please read with your child every day, but, other than that, just let them be kids. They need to run and play and craft and SLEEP. It’s alright if you aren’t working on flash cards or your child isn’t reading Harry Potter. Trust me, it’s all good.
  7. I promise you I am trying my best. I know my age and lack of experience is terrifying to you, but I work my bottom off (we don’t say butt in kindergarten, duh) to make sure that your child feels loved and included every. single. day. What I lack in experience, I more than make up for in enthusiasm.
  8. Though your child may retell of an event that day at school in a way that is quite shocking, please take their words with a grain of salt. I don’t take everything your child says about what happens at home as a word for word truth (things can be confusing to five year old brains and communication tricky), and you shouldn’t either.
  9. Sometimes, I peruse the Cat and Jack area of Target (super cool clothes for little girls). I may or may not own this really cool fuzzy vest found there for $5, and I live in constant terror I will show up to school in the same outfit as your kid. PLEASE DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD IN THE FUZZY VEST WITH NEON PINK TRIM.
  10. Be my teammate. This is not a me vs. you situation. Let’s work together.We already have common interests (see #1). Feel free to hug me (sometimes we both need it, right?). Send me silly emails about things your child says. Show me pictures of things your kiddo is doing outside of school.Let’s be pals. I REALLY WANT TO BE YOUR PAL.

 

img_2377

Funfetti Party Pudding Cookies

1/2 cup butter (unsalted)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg (room temperature)

1 box (3.4 ounces) vanilla pudding mix

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 and 1/4 cup flour

1/4 cups (OR 4 CUPS REALLY) sprinkles

3/4 cup m&ms (I used peanut)

YOU WILL HAVE TO CHILL THIS DOUGH.

Use a hand or stand mixer to beat together butter and sugar until creamy. Next, add in egg and vanilla. After that, mix in pudding mix, baking soda, or salt. Finally, mix in flour. Once all ingredients are mixed together, stir in sprinkles and m&ms. SO EASY, right?

Use a cookie scoop to scoop balls of dough that are about 2 tablespoons in size. Place balls of dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Let these chill in the fridge for at least half an hour (this is the tricky part).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Bake cookies for 9-11 minutes. PLEASE REMOVE THE SECOND THE COOKIES BROWN ON THE EDGES. They will continue to cook on the cookie sheet once you remove from the oven.

I recommend starting consumption almost immediately. Preferably with a large glass of *real* milk (I am a big believer).

xx

 

Leave a Reply

